Simplicity 3823 Version 4: Now we’re getting somewhere

Now we’re getting somewhere…..I do have a soft spot of the crowded house song for the same name haha. Wow I just discovered that was released a year after I was born hehe… yey 80s!

ANYWAY…Check out my 4th Muslin or Toile for ¬†Simplicity 3823 (Its just the bodice/top part the skirt i’m wearing is just to stop you getting and eyeful/seeing my belly)

LOL I do kind of love my goofy expression!

I almost gave up on this dress but now I figured out the obvious fitting issue that would make the top of the bodice sit better (I am still working on the back and the band).

It was so obvious but for some silly reason I originally resisted my urge to lower the streamline connecting the gathered front halter piece to the midsection/band. It was not sitting under my bust, resulting in a bad fit.

If I just asked myself “How do I differ from a size 10 fitting model?” I would have made the right adjustment a long time ago.

So how do I differ? I am not a small bra cup/size and I am not ahem as erm….lets just say my breasts don’t naturally sit high up near my armpits and I am NOT a teenager.

Moral of the story is WHERE things are sitting can be just as important as HOW things are sitting.

As for the midriff band I made so many dodgey winging-it alterations on things I can sort of see why it would be pulling. But I am addressing that next!

Rather than following the dreaded suggestion from the pattern of putting boning in the back I am planning on just adding shirring to the back . I know Betty drapers dress would be a lot more dressy but this is my spin on the dress so I decided its still accepatable.

I have never worked with shirring/shirring elastic before but I found a good tutorial here.

Gertie also has one called “Making a Shirred-Back Dress”. Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

That would solve the fitting issues in the back and ensure it stays up rather than the dreaded suggestion from the pattern of putting boning in the back.

Rule of thumb: The uglier the pattern pieces become-the better the fit. Haha Amateur pattern adjustments TO THE MAX.

I SHALL FINISH THIS DRESS.

I am going on a big trip to Europe soon so I better keep working on it.

Hmmm  Perhaps I should name every post after songs I like. Would that be wrong?

6 comments
  1. Lazy Stitching said:

    Wow – your patience is incredibly enviable and obviously paying off! I love the idea of using shirring :)

    • That is sweet of you to say. I do have long periods between muslins where I can’t get motivated to work them. Also… your creations are always gorgeous, I can’t wait to see what you make next!

  2. Louise said:

    That look so much better, just went back at looked at version 3, a huge improvement definitely more flattering to the bust. I know what you mean about ugly pattern pieces sometimes it bears little resemblance to the original!!!!

    • Yay! I am glad you feel that way :). Looking back at version 3 it looks way too tight! Indeed!

  3. Emily said:

    Great work on the muslins! I’m giving you a Liebster Award – check my blog for the details!

    • Aw thank you :). I will be sure to honor the rules in my next post! I love your projects btw. I have been coveting your Colette Meringue skirt. Its beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

