Completed Project: Butterick 5032

I know I said it was a wearable muslin but I ended up liking it a fair bit. I just love the square neckline. Also I know it’s yet another floral dress, but what can I say I love them.

I am wearing this dress today but I have to wear it with a cardigan because it’s winter where I live. My next project will be a woolen skirt! First winter appropriate thing I have made this year (I am much more of a warm weather person).

Loving the way the dress feels with the underlined skirt. I have so many cotton fabrics that are slightly too thin (on there own) for a fitted skirt but with a layer of underlining the skirt becomes a lot more durable and crease resistant.

I have started adding all my sewing patterns to springpad. The goal is to have an archive of all the patterns I have. That way I have access to it when I am out (on my phone and galaxy tab). Its a pretty nifty way to browse your patterns and I good way to check sewing notes related to each pattern as well as fabric requirements for each project.

I will make  this dress again, but with the amended neckline at some point. I can promise that the next 2 things I make will not be floral dresses but after the next 2 projects that who’s to say. I do love a floral dress or 20.

16 comments
  1. This is cute – definintely a wearable muslin and good idea to have the tights underneath at the mo!

  2. What a great shape on you- I think you have a goto pattern on your hands!

    • Yay! Thank you. I am always on the hunt for the go-to patterns 🙂

  3. You look so cute in this! I say go for the florals if they make you happy!!! Great job.
    Beth

    • Thank you Beth :). I wasn’t sure the high neckline would suit be but it worked out well.

      • I love yours, too! I’m so glad I found it!

  4. Cute! And very work-appropriate too. You could also try layering a jewel-toned turtleneck underneath for more of a jumper dress look too, if you need to winterize it.

  5. Thanks. That’s a great idea! Thanks for the tip. 🙂

  6. Ana Cuevas said:

    You look adorable!

  7. Sara said:

    It turned out so good! I’ve been using Pinterest to archive my patterns, but maybe I’ll have to check out Springpad?

    This is my first time at your blog – I love your bangs!

    • Cool! It’s good because you can get also get the springpad app for your phone then you have your pattern archive when you’re fabric shopping.
      Thank you for the kind words :)!

Leave a comment