60s A-line dress (Modified Butterick 5607)

I finally finished it! I really feel like this dress is completly my style!  I apologize for the large amount of pictures, but if you can’t be a bit indulgent on your own blog then when can you be?

Image

It’s a little shorter than I normally go, but I feel like it works with the style.

Image

I think this is going to be my Christmas dress. It’s one of the rare occasions where I am not in hiding and get to dress up.

After these photos I had to change into some shorts, because it is 30 degrees C outside (thats 86 F in american-speak) It was too hot to wear the dress today :(….But then I do love hot weather! :)

Image

I had trouble drafting the collar, it doesn’t sit as flat as I would like it too! Prior to sewing the collar and facing on I was a little apprehensive with how big the collar would look, but I think it works, especially with my short hair.

These days I try to be careful of over-fitting. I feel like this has a bit more ease. I need to move in it after all! One of the older dresses I made gets zero wear because I cant move my arms properly in it. But in this one it’s no problem.

Image
The fabric is a cotton pique…Back when I worked in a fabric shop I bought something like 6 meters of this stuff at something crazy like $2.50 per meter. The fabric/print looks kind late 60s early 70s to me. The collar is white drill and a white calico on the underside.

Image
This dress is so quick to sew, but it took forever because I made muslins, altered the fit and even copied the paper pattern multiple times. But now I have a great fitting pattern for future projects so I guess it is kind of a win.

Image
Did I mention how much I love princess seams! So easy to alter and the fit is so lovely.

Last time I tried to make a 60s dress, I made a shift dress in a fabric that was super drapey (to much drape for the project) and the darts were all pointy, I hate when that happens!

Image

The collar at the back should be closer to the zip. When I drafted the collar I overlapped my pattern pieces as the shoulder seams by 7mm. I think I will try 2cm next time. This collar drafting business is hard (at least for me anyway).

Image

And the last one is an out take hehe…

Image

20 comments
  1. It looks great. I love the collar. It would also work as a longer dress for autumn winter.

    • Thanks. Yeah I have plenty of brightly coloured tights/stockings so I will have to try that out :)

  2. Sue said:

    This is the most adorable thing ever. I LOVE the collar and your hair looks perfect with the 60s style of this outfit. :)

    • Aw thanks Sue :)! I Love the laurel you made in the Tana Lawn, was the perfect style of dress for the gorgeous light fabric. Yay 60s dresses!

  3. This is a gorgeous dress! And I like the collar you added.

    • Thanks! I am still pretty puzzled, when it comes to drafting collars so this is nice of you to say :)

  4. ybat said:

    I love your dress and the collar looks great. I think your hair really works for this style.

    • So kind! I appreciate the comment. I have always preferred shorter hair when wearing it with skirts and dresses so thanks :)

  5. Suzie said:

    Such a cute dress – I love it and it suits you so well!

  6. This is so cute! I love it on you! The fit is just perfect!

    • Ah thank ya! :) So glad you think the fit worked out, I tried to make it fitted without being tight or restrictive.
      I look back on my old projects and they were always over fitted

      • It’s such a temptation to over fit! I’ve got a few dresses that aren’t very wearable because I went too crazy trying to get rid of every wrinkle. :(

      • Yeah me too! Must have been a while ago, because the fit on the things you make always looks right to me!

  7. Etemi said:

    I’m not a big fan of 60′s style dresses as you have to have a certain figure to pull it off, but you do have that certain figure and it does look amazing on you. And I’ll join the crowd of collar admirers as well! :)

    • Gosh thank you! :) You are so kind! You have made my night! I’m so glad you like the collar. I must confess it did not lie as flat (on the back) as I wanted, so I had to tack it down but I’m always/still learning!

      • Etemi said:

        It’s always like that when you make clothes for yourself, isn’t it. If you bought it in a shop, you probably wouldn’t even have noticed if the collar was tacked to the dress or not, but if you’re the one making it, you just can’t avoid feeling like it’s not how it’s “supposed to be “. Every single piece I’ve made has something about it that is not how I wanted it to be, and will probably annoy me a tiny bit forever. :)

      • Yes! I can completely relate to that. I’m so glad I’m not the only one! It really is amazing how much more critical we are of our own makes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

