Orange penguin dress

I love orange, cute animals and reading so this dress is probably perfect for me…

penguin01 penguin02 penguin03 penguin04 penguin05 penguin06 penguin07

The dress is made from a lightweight cotton I bought at The Remnant Warehouse. It’s a lot like a tana lawn, it’s lightweight and breathable. There is a trade-off as the fabric is a little delicate. The pattern is my own design (I have made countless dresses with this pattern).

I had this dress lying around half-finished for god knows how long (I’m sure you know the story). The bodice is lined and there is an invisible zip in the side seam. I took it in 6mm on the zipper side before I installed the zipper.

As you can see I didn’t match my print very well on the front of the bodice, but I am not really fussed , but next time I will be more careful (at least on the front).

I didn’t line the skirt, because I always wear denim shorts underneath sun-dresses and skirts.

I do wish the straps were a little shorter and the waist is pretty roomy.

I must like the dress because I have worn it 3 times already. I would say it suits my personality well.

The more serious people of the world probably wonder why a grown up lady walks around in a penguin dress, but thats OK. I never want to grow up or be too serious…

BTW: Does my dress may remind you of this?:

clockworkorangesmall

Above:  The movie is as good as the book. How often does that happen? My copy of this is in storage since I switched to kindle. The penguins on the dress are obviously not the same as the logo, but my boyfriend calls it the book dress.

Also…

Just in case you are wondering my favorite books of all time are: The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde and Frankenstein by Mary Shelley! You must read them. :)

10 comments
  1. sewhopeful said:

    So so cute. You need to walk around with a Penguin Classic book in hand and see if it messes with peoples heads a little/if they notice. hehe.

  2. Thanks! Haha good plan! I do enjoy messing with peoples heads.

  3. Sally said:

    Haha! The first thing I thought of when I saw your dress was the books! Love the fabric, and the dress looks great

    • Thanks Sally. I’m glad that it reminds you of books too!

  4. Haha, I totally thought it was the logo from Penguin Books. You rock that orange!
    One of my favorite books is Dorian Gray as well. I love Oscar Wilde!

    • Thanks. Really? that’s awesome! Yes he is/was beyond brilliant!

  5. Shira Y said:

    I absolutely love this, and there’s no reason you shouldn’t wear a penguin dress! :)

  6. Absolutely adorable! I love this dress on you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

