Bright and happy skirt

sdg

When I saw this bold retro print I instantly knew I wanted to make this skirt with it!

It’s actually a canvas furnishing fabric. I adore the print and warm colors are definitely my style.

Fabric: 90cms of Canvas fabric from Spotlight (147 wide around $12.00 to $16.95 per meter)

I also used a slightly thinner fabric for the waistband facing and a lightweight cotton for the pocket insides/lining.

I didn’t bother with interfacing because the canvas is pretty thick.

Pattern: Simplicity 2451 size 10

Notions: 25cm red invisible zip $1 from The Remnant Warehouse

Time to complete: 3 hrs? But thats a wild guess.

Date Completed: Earlier this year

Amount of times worn: None yet. It’s been cold…

Fitting notes: Excellent fit. Thats why I use this pattern so often. Sewing is so easy when there are no fit issues!

Anything you would change?: I did make an effort to get my favorite flower in the center of the skirt. Then I regret having the flower smack bang in the middle of the skirt. But now I have changed my mind again and I like it there

2 comments
  1. Sarah said:

    That’s lovely! I hope when I get to it that my large rear won’t cause fitting issues…

    • Thanks :). When in doubt or sewing in treasured fabric make a muslin, but then again I doubt it should be a problem.

Leave a Reply

