Recent Pattern Purchases

I have yet to receive these in the mail but I wanted to share with you some recent pattern purchases.

I read a lot of sewing blogs. Seeing other bloggers versions of these patterns sewn up often convinces me to buy the same pattern hoping I can make something even half as cute as their version of the look.

Heres what I bought when www.sewingpatterns.com had a sale on Vogue Patterns…

Vogue 1176

When I saw JuliaBobbin’s version of Vogue 1176 I had to buy this pattern. Hopefully one day I will be brave enough to make it. The drapey bow thing looks intimidating. I’d love to make it in a bright red or kelly green. I adore JuliaBobbins super girlie version!

Yuck the vogue cover version of this next pattern is hideous (or at least not my style)…. (Vogue 1230)

But again I saw a gorgeous dress Julia Bobbin made based using this pattern as the bodice and I was sold.

Another blogger who ALWAYS makes cute stuff (Lladybird) made lovely a version of  Vogue 8280 (aka: inspired by roland mouret’s galaxy dress).

Above picture: Vogue 8280 Such a flattering style

The next pattern/below is (Vogue 8413) has been around for years and I have a feeling I have a copy already somewhere but I LOVE it! Love the cowl-neckline/fitted skirt combo. The plaid version on the cover is kinda Vivienne Westwood. Hot.


I am not a fan of Vogues sewn rendition of this style (ugly fabric)

but I LOVE that neckline and the pleats

Above Vogue 1192…Yikes I just read a lot of bad reviews of the above pattern. Hmmm…. 

The next one (Vogue 8865) would be a good starting point for a lot of dresses as I love the flared skirt and the extended panel lines (rather than darts for shaping)

Above Vogue 8665

Below: The retail version of the Micheal Kors Dress (Vogue 1117) was based on.

I have always loved this Micheal Kors number (Vogue 1117) but I have always skipped it because it looks fiddly/challenging and time consuming! When I see diamond/pointed seams like the ones under the arms of this number I get a little scared. After failed attempts of a similar dress I may have worked out the trick to doing these seams.

Sew from one side and STOP AT THE POINT then sew to the other opposite side and stop at the point (meeting where you have sewn from the other side). Don’t sew to the corner and try to pivot. It will not work, well at least not for me!  OK that probably did not make any sense anyway….

(Vogue 1117)

Ericabunker , Gertie and Lladybird have made awesome versions of this dress!

I need to change the styling of my blog.

It really bothers me that the links are the same colour as all the other text.

If you click there names there are links to there versions.

Leave a Reply

