The Lacklustre Dress

I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to post unsuccessful projects but I have decided in this case to post it. Perhaps that way I wont repeat the same mistake.

They can’t all be winners.

As I am getting older I am trying to take more notice of what suits me and this next dress in not it.

I have very light pale pinky-toned skin and the fabric I choose for this particular project is a very light creamy  yellow. This colour does my skin no favors! Lesson learned.

So perhaps that is my sewing resolution for the year. Look at the garments I own that I feel my best in and make more of those.

Also I thought the fabric was so cute…But it is so sickly sweet I don’t know how to style it to give it more edge. Yeah. I don’t think this dress will get a lot of ware.

I worked pretty hard to get the fit right.

The bodice was based on butterick 4443 but I had to modify it 5 times (was a bit of a hideous pattern for my shape too). The neckline gaped and I wanted a deeper neckline.

You can see excess fabric at the panel line close to my under arm. Did not smooth out the curve of the panel line enough there hence the bagging effect. Its not super noticeable though.

I also lengthened the torso (I am 175cm) but I got carried away and lengthened it too much.

There is a bit of dragging on the back…did I over-fit?

So there you have it. A lemon from start to finish.

On a happier not I did manage a “All-Machine Clean-Finish Sleeveless Bodice Lining” thanks to this tutorial.

Yay! This is awesome because I HATE facings on dresses.

Leave a Reply

