2417 Simplicity Dress ‘The stash-busting dress’

To be honest with you, for me, there is nothing I would rather make or wear than a dress!

When I bought this spot-print fabric I only bought one meter (intending to make a gathered skirt) Usually I over-buy so that was unusual for me. Later I really regret only buying 1 meter of it because looking at it when I got home I thought It would make a great dress.

I am so happy to have found a pattern that has a fuller/non-fitted skirt (more comfortable for everyday) but does not use very much fabric (LOVE THAT!) This pattern in size 10 it only requires 1.15 meters of 115 cm wide fabric or using 150 cm wide fabric only 1 meter (I think that is only just over a yard). YES! I could make a dress in this fabric after all.

Sometimes it is important to look at the line drawing and look past the totally UNCUTE way they style things on pattern envelopes (sun dress with a bowling shirt anyone?)! I only bought this pattern for the dress but there are other separates with this pattern (not really feeling any of the others).

I really loved Emily’s (from Sew Many Happies) version of this dress. I think its what really motivated me to try this pattern out!

This pattern is so quick to make. Aside from getting the straps the right length. I am a little asymmetrical at the shoulders so this is always a nightmare for me! I lost count of how many times I unpicked the straps to readjust them and after sewing the lining to the dress one of the straps is STILL not quite right (it gapes slightly) but this is where I tell my inner perfectionist to shut ย the hell up, put on the dress, enjoy it and carry on with my life!

Another discovery is that my waist is very big in relation to my hip size/build. When working with patterns in future I am just going to automatically add 6mm just at the waist. What can I say? I love my chocolate ;).

I feel like this sun dress looks a little bit like Hazel by Colette Patterns but with a longer waistline and thicker straps.ย Paunnet made a gorgeous version of the Hazel. I just love sun dresses! I know I am slightly crazy making them throughout winter, I am wearing this one today with a cardigan and I will be adding a scarf and cropped trench coat when I go outside.

I will definitelyย be using this pattern again. Like I said I love a dress pattern that is cute but doesn’t use a lot of fabric, because I am on a tight budget.

36 comments
  1. helen said:

    i love it!! especially with your purple-y tights!

    • Thank you dear :)! I am all about bold prints!

  2. I love making dresses the most too- I just need to give in and make nothing else- I’ll start with this! I love the tights with it too.

    • Yes! nothing is better than a dress and we have to sew the things that make us the happiest ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Anne W said:

    Love the spots! It’s amazing what you can get out of 1 metre!

    • Thanks! Yes it really is a brilliant pattern. I guess I cheated a little because I wasn’t including the bodice lining, but I usually use a different fabric for that anyway.

  4. Cuckoo Chanel said:

    You are my squeeee of the day. Love this!! Killer necklace and tights.

    • Aw thank you :)! I’m glad you like the necklace and tights. The necklace is new.

  5. Reminds me of B5351 too which I always thought looks like the Colette Hazel and Lily dresses had a baby dress.

  6. Great dress! I love how you changed the direction of the dots on the bodice.The orange necklace and purple tights are so fun!
    Beth.

  7. PendleStitches said:

    I love this! Just perfect dots! Gorgeous.

  8. Sertyan said:

    I love this dress, it looks cute and smart at the same time

    • Yay! thats what I was going for, Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Kessem said:

    I love this! I love that you changed the directions of the circles in the skirt! it took me a while to notice but I love it!
    what kind fo fabric did you line the dress with? I’m always at a loss when it comes to lining, I tend to never line my dresses because I like the airiness on cotton and don’t always feel the need to line it, but when I do, I NEVER KNOW WHAT FABRIC TO USE.
    great job!

    • Thank you! I line it with a cotton batiste and I would really recommend it. It’s basically a very thin lightweight cotton (sort of like a voile). I prefer this to a slippery polyester lining! Not only is the batiste light and airy, it is also easier to sew than that slinky polyester lining and the last thing you want to wear in the summer is polyester right up against the skin!

  10. Acabo de descubrir tu blog, a traves de burdastyle, y tengo que decirte que me encanta!!!. Besitos

  11. Pauline said:

    I love your dress. I agree with you, sometimes the pattern companies have poor styling for the envelop. I think simple shapes like your dress are perfect associated with loud fabric. You did a great job.

    • Thank you so much :)! Good point- simple is often best with loud fabric.

  12. I love how you changed the fabric orientation on the bottom! I would have definitely overlooked this pattern based on the styling, but yours turned out great!

  13. Emily said:

    This dress is so gorgeous & it goes great with that necklace & purple tights.

  14. neeno said:

    Hiiii Im a new comer to your blog.
    I LOVE your dresses, your sewing is fantastic. Love the vintage dresses ๐Ÿ™‚

      • ah I clicked on your name and realized I am already subscribed to your blog (silly me). I love to see the dresses you make too ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Angie said:

    So pretty and can be paired with so many different pops of color! Yay

  16. Wow – this dress is stunning.

    Kram fra Danmark,
    Trine

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ Mange tak!
      I am enjoying reading your blog. So glad I discovered it!

  17. OMG just love it! The whole outfit is great! Great print, and a touch of orange and purple! so nice

    • Thank you. You are lovely. I’m glad I’m not the only one who loves bold colour and print. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

