Under Construction: Burda style Magazine Pleated Top (issue 9/2011 Style 128)

I have almost finished this top. I have been enamored with this pleated top for a while, it seemed dressy and versatile with vintage flair.

I was worried It wouldn’t suit me, but after sewing the buttons and trying it on I love the affect of the pleats around the neck! There is only one thing that needs some tweaking and that is the fit. I do prefer more definition at the waist.

It really needs more shaping. Because I made it in a medium weight poplin when I belt it or tuck it into a skirt it creases like crazy!

So if you are making this pattern and prefer a more fitted silhouette bear in mind it does have a lot of ease at the sides.

I am going to take some width out of the side seams and add darts to the front. There go the fancy side seams I made. I must remember to fit as I go. I should have pinned where the buttons were to get a better idea of the fit before finishing the side seams of.

Ah sewing, you never stop learning from your mistakes :).

6 comments
  1. paunnet said:

    It’s gorgeous! Although I understand you, I also prefer a more defined waist, even when the pattern is more on the blousy side.

    • I’m so glad you like it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes it’s always so much more flattering that way! If it were a fabric that was softer with more drape perhaps it would have worked tucked in and belted, without the shaping and changes.

  2. Juliet said:

    So sweet! Love the contrast of your buttons and the fabric. I’m the same as you – I like the waist to be more defined, and I think that it’ll look perfect once you’re happy with the fit!

    • Thank you sweet of you to say. Just goes to show how important fit is! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Really cute! I’ve loved this pattern for a while. The color looks great on you!

    • Thank you that’s mighty kind of you to say ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

