Simplicity 2444: Geometric Print Dress

Simplicity 2444 the love affair continues (third dress made using this pattern). I am super happy with this dress, however the pictures of me in it were not so great… I may add some better ones later.

I realize this is not everyones style but I love this crazy fabric. I salvaged the bodice fabric from a strappy summer dress that was not flattering on me. Had to save the fabric because the print was insane in the best possible way.

The black material I used for the skirt is a nice crisp poplin. Not long ago Lincraft had 50% off all fabrics so I bought around 7 meters of the stuff. You can never have enough black fabric. I always buy these kind of things in bulk!

It occurred to me that I don’t usually show the insides of my garments so heres a peek. Once again the bodice and sleeves are fully lined in a thin black cotton (all by machine, no hand stitching involved) Hooray!

That’s another thing I bulk buy: cotton linings and black and white (lawn, batise etc). Always good to have a supply of this stuff and cotton is so much more breathable and way nicer to sew than all those slippery linings (not that they don’t have there place).

I know it’s not pretty: I removed some excess fabric from the neckline so there is absolutely no gaping. Above are alterations I made to the pattern in order to achieve this.
What a lucky fluke, I didn’t think it would work. This was the main reason why I had to make simplicity 2444 again. I had to test my alterations. Here is my tutorial on how to remove gaping. It’s easy to go overboard and remove to much, you don’t want it to restrict your movement.

Sorry another unattractive picture(s). But here are my sewing notes in picture form. I don’t know how many times I have to make this mistake…

I was even going to do a tutorial but alas I made the same mistake I did last time.

Must remember: Do NOT attach sleeve lining to sleeves with right sides of the bodice facing out. Must attach the sleeve to sleeve lining with wrong sides of bodice/lining visible (right sides of sleeve seam allowance together).

14 comments
  1. Sertyan said:

    This is beautiful inside and out! You always look really cute and dainty in your handmade creations

    • Thank you. I felt silly looking at myself in the photos so your lovely comment made my night! I am really trying to make the insides of my garments nicer these days, so nice of you to notice!

  2. Alice said:

    This is really quirky and I love your brand new version of the S2444;-) and the fit is perfect, not just the neckline. Yet another very cute creation πŸ™‚

  3. Andrea said:

    This dress is great! Super cute on you. Love the little contrast sleeves.

  4. Neeno said:

    ooooooooooo that is a lovely dress!! I love the black skirt and sleeves!!! so pretty ❀

  5. Matea said:

    hey, sorry for not commenting on your blog, i really like your blog πŸ™‚ and this dress is perfect and very nice!

  6. I left a comment on the other post about 2444–I’d love a tutorial on the clean bodice lining! I still can’t figure it out from pictures. Also, how did the pleats facing different directions turn out? Did the second or third dresses have a different direction of pleats? Thanks! This is so fun to watch you make! I bought the pattern today and I’ve cut it out, now just trying to read up on how to sew it best.

  7. Hey! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a
    theme or plugin that might be able to fix this problem.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Appreciate it!

    • Sorry I am not too sure how to fix this. The template I am using is called ‘Blogum’ sorry I couldn’t be of more help.

  8. Kait said:

    After sifting through many plastic surgery results for “fix drooping/sagging neckline,” I am so glad I found your post! I have a big bust but that doesn’t mean it slopes all the way up to my neck! What are these patternmakers doing? This is always a problem for me, and I’m so grateful to you for posting this tutorial! My Simplicity 2444 can be saved! Thank you!

    • LOL. I’m do glad it was some help to you! It may not be the right way of doing things but sometimes we need to do some sewing hacks to get things to work out. I’m glad i’m not the only one that has those issues.
      You are very welcome.

Leave a Reply

