I’m still alive! (I have to sew to stay happy)

I have had some difficult times recently but I just wanted to say I will be posting again very soon!

Why did I stop sewing? Two reasons.

Firstly I had one of those annoying sewing projects where I thought I did everything right: removing excess to create a better fit AND altering the pattern accordingly. But somehow the project ended up too small. Its funny how sometimes I just ‘wing it’ and the fit ends up being perfect, but sometimes when I really take care it goes awry.

Secondly I have too many clothes as it is and I thought it was time to focus on non-sewing related creative projects. I live in a small apartment and I LOVE it, but I don’t have space for any more clothes.

I recently helped someone else with a project, but they had serious time constraints and needed my help getting it finished. The stress stopped me enjoying the process.

Who am I kidding? I need to sew for myself for the sake of my own sanity! I’m sure many people would relate to that.

It’s that inner girl in me that feels like a new dress is never a bad thing. I recently cut my hair into a short bob, with the shorter hair I wear dresses even more.

Sometimes sewing is so frustrating and it can incite rage in even the most patient person.

BUT there is nothing like the feeling of trying on a dress you made, to fit your body and to suit your own personal style. I have to sew to stay happy.

It’s sewing time again 🙂

4 comments
  1. I hope you’re able to find some time to sew soon! I definitely understand the frustrations of dealing with limited space. 🙂

    Let’s see a photo of your new hairdo!

    • 🙂 Yes you have to be really creative with storage too!

      I’m about to post some!

  2. Hey girl. I miss your style out tere in blogland. Hope you’re well. Happy 2013.

Leave a Reply

