The sewing rut is over (Simplicity 2588 Pattern)

Edit: I just wanted to say that the lovely comments I received on this post completely made my day!

I was telling my boyfriend ‘I love how supportive everyone is of each other’ and his words were ‘supportive? on the Internet?’ He was surprised. Yes believe it or not it does happen! Perhaps it’s just this great sewing community.

I follow a lot of sewing blogs but I don’t always comment. Sometimes out of shyness or just because there are so many people making cute things, but from now on I will really make an effort too, because I know how happy it makes me when people I admire comment on the things I make.


I used Simplicity 2588. This is my first time using this pattern. I wanted to try it because I liked the little raglan sleeves.

I lined the bodice but for some reason did not line the sleeves. It was pretty silly of me.

The dress is already in the wash for the first time. I just came back from lunch and I already spilled very hot ramen soup on it (Yum! …but I am such a grub). So it will be interesting to see how it fares in the wash.

Here is a dirty sewing confession: I don’t pre-wash my fabric. I know, I know I am playing with fire! Interesting to see if will come out unscathed.

There is an invisible zip in the center back of the dress. I am pretty proud of just how invisible it is!

The fabric is predominately cotton with a fine weave. It has a slight stretch to it (spandex perhaps), which is perfect for a form fitting dress!

When cutting out in this fabric I was pretty deliberate. I used parts of the print where it looked scattered and there was some white space. I wanted to break up the flowers a little so it wasn’t completely covered in flowers. I don’t know how well it works.

Perhaps it may have been better to just cut out the printed fabric economically and let the sewing gods decide the fate of the print…but then you could end up with two flowers smack bang in the middle of two awkward places.

Part of me really likes this dress, but part of me thinks it’s too fussy. These days I feel myself leaning towards a more mod look (especially with the shorter hair). I want to introduce more solid colour dresses to my wardrobe and use prints that more clean and geometric.

Anyway we shall see.

Fitting notes: I have had a lot of success with project runway patterns fit-wize. They seem to be well drafted for busty ladies that aren’t super hippy. I find that most patterns these days seem to best fit the pear shaped ladies, so if you are more hour glass give the project runway patterns a try.

There was minor gaping around the neckline (but I know this is the case with most patterns for me).

I had remove excess fabric at the back of the skirt due to my lack of a bum by moving the center back seam in (sorry for the over-sharing). Unfortunately this made the side seams move closer towards the back.

I wish I knew how remove excess from the back of a fitted skirt without distorting the side seams! Does anyone know how to do this?

I took a little out just below the bust to give a more fitted shape. I love princess panel seams because they are so easy to adjust! I made a few other minor alterations, but I can’t remember every one.

I shortened the waist my 1.5cm so it hits slightly above the waist.

Because the dress had a fussy floral, I felt as if I had to go shorter on the hem than I ordinarily would, to avoid the dress looking too matronly.

I’m just so happy to be sewing again!

51 comments
  1. Kathryn said:

    This is gorgeous- I love the diagonal placement of the flowers and would agree with you re. breaking up the flowers like that. I love your new hair style as well – very chic!

    • Sorrry about the belated response…Thank you for your lovely comment!

  2. Emily said:

    This dress is so pretty πŸ™‚ Your apartment looks really cute too, from what I can see. You should start pre-washing though. I’m serious. When you wash your project and the seams get all puckery and you realize the hours and hours you spent making your dress all went to waste after one wear, you will convert! That said, I never pre-wash synthetics (rayon being the exception).

    • Thanks for the kind words! I didn’t get any puckering when I washed this dress but I can easily see it happening with other garments. Thanks for the warning (I will have to heed it next time) cotton can be pretty unpredictable!

  3. That new haircut suits you so well! I’m amazed honestly, I don’t usually like short hair much but I totally love this on you. Very chic! Glad to see you back sewing πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! You are so sweet! I’m glad you think it works. I love your hair too, I have always wanted red hair the colour suits you so well!

  4. Love your dress and your new haircut is great too. really suits you!

  5. paunnet said:

    Gorgeous dress and adorable hair! You look perfect in these photos!

    • Gosh what a lovely compliment! Thank you :)!

  6. I LOVE this! The dress is absolutely gorgeous, and your hair is beyond cute! You’re too adorbs!

    • You are too kind! Thank you! *does a little dance* I’m so glad you like the hair and the dress. I have always wanted to try some fabric dying techniques. I can’t wait to see your next project!

  7. Fabulous job on the dress and the hair!! You look fantastic.

    • Aw thank you kindly! I’m glad you like it. It was different from what originally I wanted, but now I really like it. I never seem to style my hair so short hair is great.

  8. This dress is AMAZING on you! I love the placement of the flowers. Great work and welcome back to sewing world!
    Beth

    • Thanks! I am so happy you like the placement. πŸ™‚

  9. helen said:

    wow! i think this is my favourite dress that you’ve made, it’s gorgeous. i also LOVE your new hairdo, i wish i was brave enough to chop it that length πŸ™‚

    • Yay! Thank you! I say if you really feel like a change go for it πŸ™‚

  10. I really like that dress and think the way you have chosen to place your pattern pieces has worked out well.

    I read somewhere that the pattern companies only create those “cut 1 on centre fold” pattern pieces to be economical with their pattern paper so they don’t have to print a full pattern piece.

    From now on, I am going to trace the pattern piece as a full piece and do what you do and strategically place them where I think the fabric looks best.

    One time I made a dress using the craziest, busiest print and while I cut the front piece on the fold and tried to pick the best spot, the two back pieces clashed at the centre back seam and the print looked ridiculously messy.

    Not my best creation, but here is the blog post: http://www.sewmelove.com/2012/06/easy-like-sunday-morning-m6201-view.html

    I think you have done a great job with this dress, I think I will check out this pattern next time I’m at the shops πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Neeno! Btw I loved your Halloween dress!

      Working with full pattern pieces is a much better idea when working with busy prints I will have to try this next time!

  11. Love the placement of the floral parts of the fabric, great job lining up the diagonal ‘lines’ on the bodice with those on the skirt. Your new haircut is gorgeous, really suits you, as someone else said, very, very chic.

  12. Sertyan said:

    Your dress is super gorgeous and so are you with your new hairstyle! You look like a runway model in an expensive designer dress! Well done

    • Oh my! What a lovely compliment you are so sweet πŸ™‚ bless you!

  13. You nailed the print placement; I love the way you have the diagonal lines of flowers on the front.

    • Thanks a lot! Now I feel like I made the right choice with the flowers!

  14. Love! Those flowers are not matronly at all, especially with your adorable haircut!

    • Thank you ! I am loving your chevron peplum top, it’s so stylish!

  15. Bodil Fricke said:

    Wow – looking fantastic!

    • Aw Thanks sis! Thanks for checking out my blog. I’m go glad you are back in Aus xo!

  16. houseofpinheiro@facebook.com said:

    Really pretty dress and your choices would be very similar to mine making this dress … Oh that fabric is gorgeous . I have same shape my advice it’s to place darts on the skirt back they should end 12 cm and that makes the best of a small bum …

    • Thank you and thanks so much for the advice! I shall try that on my next fitted skirt.

  17. Ana Cuevas said:

    Beautiful!!! i love getting your emails. I am so busy at work that i have not been able to sew for the past two months! I will soon. Keep up the great work. Your fabric choices and your pattern choices are great!

    • Wow thank so much πŸ™‚ Hope you get a chance to sew again too!

  18. Karen said:

    Love the dress and your new short hair! It’s amazing how a different hairstyle can really change your attitude to clothes. Thanks for the heads up on Project Runway patterns, I always shy away from store brought pattern because of some of the fit challenges but might have to give these a go.

    • Yes exactly! I went through my wardrobe and found all my clothes looked different on me. The boyish shirts I had been sporting when I had my long hair looked a lot less cool but suddenly my dresses felt more fun and modern with the short hair.
      I understand how you feel some store bought patterns they can be SO much work and if you can draft your own or use a tried and tested pattern all the better. I hope you have luck with the PR patterns too!

  19. Alice said:

    Lovely hair – it looks very edgy and suits you perfectly. I LOVE your new dress! it’s beautiful – I love how you played around with the prints and how clean the colours are.

    • Thank you stylish lady! I really admire your creations too! πŸ™‚

  20. Hey Bernie so glad you left a comment and I have wandered over to your blog I love it. Look forward to going back and seeing what you have created. Just looking at the two photos short and long hair you look amazing with short hair! What a transformation. I have now added you to my bloglovin!! Look forward to reading your posts!! Xo iheartfabric

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ Glad you like the haircut! I Love the stuff you make and I am following you too! xo

  21. sue said:

    This is SO cute, I can’t stand it! The fabric is amazing and your hair is ADORABLE!!!!

  22. Sofie said:

    I’ve just found your blog. It is lovely. Your latest dress is great and this on is really fabulous and I love the diagonal placing of the flowers. I looked at your earlier photos and I don’t think I’ve seen a better transformation from a haircut. You look very sophisticated with your shorter hair .. really stunning!

    • That is so kind of you. This comment really put a smile on my face! I do feel a lot more comfortable with short hair and there is less maintenance.

  23. Hello,

    I don’t often like floral prints, but this one is gorgeous on you. The fit is really well done too, very flattering.

    • That is so nice of you to say. Thanks a lot!

  24. Suli said:

    I’ve had this dress pattern in my stash but have yet to sew it. After seeing your version I will have to get it out and start sewing it very soon! You look fabulous in that dress! I am really loving the print on the fabric as well – it’s inspiring me! Hopefully I can find a simlar floral print to use for mine!

    • I am honored to have inspired you :)!
      It really is a good little pattern. Princess seams and raglan sleeves are so fun and flattering!
      Hope you find a good fabric. They have a lot of nice stretch sateen fabrics around these days! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

