Jewelery remixing

Just thought I would mention: I will be posting more sewing ‘makes’ soon(ish): Unfortunately I have issues with my leg/s when I sew too much. I don’t know how to correct this, but if I sew to much I get pain in my legs that can often last for months :(. So annoying!  I have had this problem in the past and its best to avoid sewing for a while. 

One thing I love to do is hold onto necklaces that break or that I feel are not quite my style for whatever reason and shop for craft pieces and trinkets in dollar stores (jump rings, beads etc)  because…

If you have some chain, jump rings and a set of those jewelery making pliers (I don’t even know the technical term for these) you can combine all these things to make jewellery that is more your style, and that no one else will be wearing. I love that!

I tend to love bold colours and the 60s so that influenced how I remixed the beads and materials. I know they are a little kooky and not everyones taste but here you go…

You have been warned- I love brooches! hehe

Image

Above: My favorite. A brooch from leather scraps. More on this later.

Image

This necklace was a mish-mash of beads I took from 3 other necklaces I owned (but didn’t like) so I dismantled them.

I like this piece with my orange top. But then orange is my favorite colour (has been since I was a teenager) so I feel like everything goes better orange. Orange makes me happy!

Image

I like the mix of wood, colour and plastic! I don’t know why I had to use duct tape in this one but bah who cares.

Image

Above is another one made from parts of the same necklaces.

Image

Fun fact: Pill boxes are a great way to store jump rings and small jewellery supplies.

Anyway my point is making something new that is ‘your style’ out of things you already have. That is what I’m about!

6 comments
  1. I like your interesting necklaces. It’s always cool to make something new out of stuff you have lying about.

    Sorry to hear about your legs. Is it the foot pedal that is giving you problems? Newer computerized machines can be operated without a foot pedal. They have a stop/start button. So if that’s what’s making sewing difficult for you, that could be a solution. Hope you feel better soon.

    • Wow I never realized there was such a thing as a machine operated without a foot pedal. Might be worth a look one day when I have the funds.
      Thank you 🙂

      • They are not even that expensive. I work for a sewing machine shop and the cheapest computerized machine we sell is 249. It’s still a bit of money, obviously. But if that’s what keeps you from sewing, it might be worth it. 🙂 anyways, all the best. Hope you are well. Stephanie

      • Cool. I will keep that in mind. Thanks!

    • Thanks. Love your blog, makes me want to beautify my apartment!

Leave a Reply

