Sewing Project Plans

lovely-fabric

That black and white pixelated-looking fabric on the right (that looks like QR code) is my favorite. Too scared to use it. Don’t you hate it when you are too scared to cut into a fabric you love?

Today I had fun going through some of my fabric. I would look at my fabric and ask the fabric “what do you want to be? a dress? a skirt? what era, look or style? I am a strange individual. I have never denied that.

All plans are subject to change at any moment of course!

Anyway below are the ones I could make a decision about. Not necessarily my favorite fabrics, just a selection that I thought would suit a particular style or sewing pattern….

SP-vogue8789

Above: Vintage Vogue 8789 View A. With the stripes on the bodice cut on the bias creating a lovely chevron. yum!

SP-vogue8413

Picture the Blue fabric on the left as view a. A sleeveless dress with a drapey neckline so it’s kinda ‘hillybilly-does-Vivienne-Westwood” type of deal. The dull-looking fabric on the right could be a wearable muslin of the same dress. There is not a lot of this blue fabric so we will see…

SP-simplicty2417

I want to be the kind of person that has a dress that is covered in zebra heads!

The fact that I don’t have much yardage/meterage to work with made it easy to decide, as this dress uses the least fabric. I have made this dress before

SP-butterick-5607

This fabric has that cute 60s vibe that I love. Perfect for a A-line dress. Should I add a collar? or perhaps waist tabs

This is the most recent dress I made, so I already perfected the fit, or at least thats the theory anyway…

SP-simplicity6128redfabric

Red denim to be made into a basic A-line skirt with pockets, mostly to test out the pattern. NEXT!

SP-simplicity6128cool

If the red skirt goes well would like to try the A-line style in this DIVINE ikea fabric!

I know, I know Tilly already made a skirt in a similar fabric. I love her version (and everything she makes). But for my skirt I want it to be shorter and more streamlined (no pleats) It’s a heavier fabric too.

SP-newlook6124

I am not mad about this fabric. I like it, but I am not head-over-heels for it. I have LOTS of it, so its a good one to test new patterns on. Also its a sateen so it has a bit of stretch, great for fitted dresses.

I want to make the above pattern from it, sleeveless, without the peplum fin things and with the square neckline.

SP-simplicity1693

Don’t you love my penguin fabric? It was a left over from sun dress I was/am still making.

I want to make the top in view D of the pattern but with no sleeves and I suppose I would make the contrasting peter pan collar black.

I did not manage to capture the true colour of the fabric on the right, it’s much more of pink than in the photo it would be a good choice for wearable muslin to test out the pattern because I have a lot of it.

SP-newlook6048

I have 6.28 meters of this fabric, so it’s a good one to test out new patterns.

How do I end up with so many meters of the same fabric? when I worked in a fabric shop I would buy up big when the clearance fabric were reduced again, so I often got fabric that was $3 or under per meter. So a nice cotton poplin that is cheaper than the price of calico…those were the days!

 

So yeah. Those be my plans. What should I make next?

4 comments
  1. Shira Y said:

    I love the flowered fabric with the 60’s vibe! I think as a dress it will look great with white waist tabs or maybe piping. And the penguin shirt sounds perfect! šŸ™‚

    • White waist tabs for the floral fabric. I love that idea! Thanks for the suggestion! šŸ™‚

  2. Hi there, I love all these fabrics! Do you work with printed cottons or viscose/rayon/poly? I’m trying to use more viscose for drape but find it hard sourcing cute prints that are not old fashioned. Great blog- I regularly check in to get inspiration so it’s about time I said thank you šŸ™‚

    Elle x

    • Hi Elle.
      I mostly work with printed 100% cottons: Lots of drill, poplin, lawn and often a light cotton such as batiste for lining. I also use the odd quilting fabric for dress making. I have never really branched out and used chiffon or silk (I’m a pretty casual person), but I think sometime I should.

      I used to be all anti polyester, but these days I like it especially pol/cotton blends for things like skirts or dresses (less creasing and easy to care for).

      I know what you mean with regards to Viscose. It’s is so nice to wear, I love it too and I have experienced the same thing, it’s super hard to find viscose in cute prints, or even at all.

      So happy you like the blog. Sorry about my rambling in those response. I love fabric hehe

      Kath

Leave a Reply

