Sewing notes: Simplicity 2417 sewing how-to

I thought I would share with you some photos I took during the construction process

 If you click on the image it will open a much larger version of it in another tab in your browser and it will give you a somewhat detailed description of what I did.

Note: I may have missed steps in my explanation… I just wanted to highlight the way I construct a dress with straps that has a lined bodice. I never follow pattern instructions, so my process may be different!

SP-simplicty2417

I used simplicity 2417 I have made a dress from this pattern before. I love this pattern, because its simple, quick to sew and uses such a small amount of fabric (compared to your average dress).

Simplicity2417-howto-01 Simplicity2417-howto-02 Simplicity2417-howto-03 Simplicity2417-howto-04

Alterations I made for my print dress: I shortened the straps by 4cms. I also took 6mm out of both side seams at the top of the bodice (as the original dress had become too roomy under the arms but I tapered it to nothing before the waist so it would stay the same size. That was it. cheaking the fit was easy because I already had by ‘stash busting dress’ made from the same pattern, so I could just try that on and see if the fit was right

Ok heres my process… If you click on the image it will open a much larger version of it in another tab in your browser and it will give you a somewhat detailed description of what I did.

Note: I may have missed steps in my explanation… I just wanted to highlight the way I construct a dress with a  lined bodice and straps. I never follow pattern instructions, so my process may be different!

Leave a Reply

