Bold blue summer dress (simplicity 2417)

I have been meaning to post this for a long time!

I think this is my favorite thing that I have ever made. I totally fell for this printed fabric and rather than allowing it to hide in my fabric stash for the rest of my life I actually used it!

boldblue-nf01

boldblue-nf02

boldblue-nf03

boldblue-nf04

And I took photos with some with the flash on, to see if I could get a more accurate color representation of the dress (but failed to get a good represenation)…

boldblue-f01

boldblue-f02

boldblue-f03

I really included the last one because I was so happy with the fact that my hair was behaving for once. Haha. The fit is better than it looks I promise. I was just wearing the wrong *ahem* undergarments.

The blue in the fabric is very different IRL, but eh I tried.

This year I am going to use all my good fabric (rather than saving it for the non existent “perfect project”). I love the print of the fabric its sort of delicious in a late 60s kind of way!

The fabric reminds me me of this print ad from the 60s (that I had on a pintrest board)…

60sad

I wore this dress to a 90th birthday party and got some lovely compliments, which I love because mature ladies are often the most stylish ๐Ÿ™‚

I deliberately used a tried-and-true pattern (Simplicity 2417) that way I could skip the fitting woes for this project! I have already used this pattern countless times, but it is so easy and this pattern uses so little fabric, that I can’t stop! A sewing project that involves minor fitting and alterations is such a joy to sew.

The fabric is a light weight cotton drill that I bought at spotlight it was about $8 per meter on sale. That is far more than I usually pay, but I had to have it because the print was really calling my name.

When cutting out the skirt portion, I did consider the print, but I should have experimented more with positioning of the the print in relation to ย the pleats in the skirt, I sort of had to re-arrange it a bit ‘after-the fact’.

This dress is so easy to wear because I underlined the skirt portion with a light batiste. The reason I did this was because the drill creases easily…I figured that by underlining it, it would give it some weight and stability and stop it creasing as much. I was right!

The underling also makes the dress sit better and feel more substantial to wear. I must do this with future projects.

I took an additional 6 mm out of the top of the side seams of the bodice and shortened the straps.

I had a lot of construction notes and I really wish I wrote them in a book. I completed this garment a long time ago, so any hiccups are a distant memory.

I vaguely remember fussing with the skirt underling, because I changed the positioning of the pleats slightly to fit the print, but that’s all I remember.

I lined the bodice rather than underling it. Not sure if that makes a difference. Perhaps later I will post pictures of the insides of the dress.

This year I will use actual fabric to make wearable muslins and then only fashion fabric that I LOVE when I have perfected the fit of a garment! The work is the same and life is short!

I can’t wait to make more things in bold prints and bright colours!

12 comments
    • Aw ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Beth. I look forward to trying some of your fab winter DIYs when it gets cold round my neck of the woods!

  1. Anne W said:

    That’s gorgeous, I love the print & the colours!

    • Thanks Anne. I’m glad you are a fan of the crazy print ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Wow, I love this! It’s so fun and cute! You look great! I’m loving your hair and makeup in these pics!

    • Thank you Ginger! I did my make up specially ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. This dress looks wonderful!!! I love it. The bodice is so perfectly centred.
    I’m the same, always saving beautiful fabric for the non existent โ€œperfect project” – well said!! That’s me.

    • Thanks Neeno! I bet you have a phenomenal stash, join me in fearlessly using some of the best fabric (especially on a TNT pattern!).

  4. You look absolutely stunning. I can’t think of anyone who holds up to the harshness of flash photos as well as you. This dress is beyond splendid. Love love love the print. And great plan to start using your fabric for wearable muslins. Some of my favorite dresses started out as muslins.
    Keep up the bright, bold, beautiful work!
    Shelley

    • Wow thank you Shelly. You are so lovely! Yes. I know what you mean, sometimes it’s the dresses you make to try out a fabric that end up being the best makes (I guess calling them muslins can make us more bold and fearless about sewing too)!
      Thanks again for the sweet words of encouragement. I really needed it today ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Rikki said:

    This dress is fabulous!! I wrote a comment on P.R, but after reading your blog post I felt I should leave a one here as well. What you said about using your “good” fabric instead of saving it for a “non-existent perfect project” is so true! I have fabric that I absolutely love but am reluctant to use. You’re right that there is no “perfect project” and its better to just use it rather than have it marinate in a stash for years (guilty!). Thanks, I needed that today!:)

    • Thank you Rikki! Yes! I am always telling myself is life it to be enjoyed because we don’t live forever. So glad I’m not alone in having experienced this! Perhaps we should create a ‘use the good fabric’ challenge?

      ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

