Julia Bobbins Mad Men Challenge 3 (I’m in)

I participated in Julia Bobbin’s Mad Men Challenge before, but embarrassingly I never finished the dress/completed the challenge. I think I failed because I felt it was hard to copy an exact look.

This time I’m sure I will have better luck because I am going for a dress ‘inspired’ by one of the looks in the show, rather than a close copy of something that was worn (it’s too hard to find similar fabrics!).

So here’s what I’m thinking…

projectplans-megan04

She may not be my favorite character but the girl sure does have a great wardrobe! Because she’s young and wealthy she has all the styles that were current and true to the late 60s (in comparison to many of the other characters). I like a short skirt but I would not go as short as hers (in the picture) I like the idea of bell-like sleeves and a higher collar (but it would have a similar vibe to hers)!

If I have more ideas I will post them but I think I will be going for this fun patterned shift.

I can’t wait to see what everyone else is planning for this one xo

Julia Bobbin - Mad Men Challenge III
11 comments
  1. Anne W said:

    That – is going to look fantastic!!! Can’t wait!

    • Yay! Thanks Anne! I’m excited too! Are you participating?

      • Anne W said:

        I wasn’t going to, too many other things on my sewing table! 🙂

      • Fair enough 😀

  2. Alice said:

    Yay! That’s great! I love Megan’s style — it’s so modern, and she pulls off all her outfits flawlessly! I must admit though that I do have a soft spot for Megan, perhaps it’s her independence and confidence 🙂
    I’m planning on participating this year again, too! and like you, I’m going to not worry about matching the fabric too much, as it’s just too stressful! My inspirations are here: http://smoonbeam.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/mad-men-challenge-3-im-in.html but I’m also now thinking about making a blue blouse Betty wore back in season 1.
    Can’t wait to see what you make – I love the pattern that you picked out and the fabric.

    • So excited about your look! I really like the idea of a cotton-blouse in the Betty Draper style. I can totally see you rocking that look!

  3. Sue said:

    Ooh, I do love this look of Megan’s, and I know this style will look adorable on you. I like your fabric even better than the inspiration dress! 😀

    • Thanks Sue 🙂 I love the fact that it’s from my stash. It’s kind of like when I cook but I use ingredients I already have (rather than going shopping). Sorry for the silly analogy…

    • Yay feeling way more confident about my choice now. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

