‘Me Made May’ changed my life

mmmay03

Above more MMMay14 highlights. If you want to see more (learn about what I made’) check out my instagram!

Me-made-may did changed my life. Sounds like hyperbole, but I really mean it!

You probably guessed that I am quite a shy introvert and I remember  thinking earlier this year, about how nice it would be to have some friends with similar hobbies! Joining instagram and taking part in Me-made-may has made this happen!

The sewing community is just wonderful, supportive and amazing! I was inspired daily by so many ladies who also love to sew! God I love you guys! You are like the friends I always dreamed of having, only but better dressed 😉

Susan of Measure twice / cut once invited me to be part of a Sydney Spoolettes meetup, which was a total blast! As you can imagine I did not leave any fabric shop empty handed. It was just delightful to talk to all these lovely ladies about sewing!

Thanks for the inspiration and support fellow MMMayers, I think we would all do Zo proud!

Also I’m hoping to let the lessons I learnt during MMMay help guide my sewing choices so naturally I had to create a pinterest board with this in mind!

For anyone who is an android/non-iphone user who uses their phone to take photos of the things they makeI recommend this app called Camera ZOOM FX. I used it when taking my MMMay photos (note: I’m not being sponsored by them and have never been given freebies from anyone ever), but I thought it was worth recommending because you can set a timer and set it to take however many photos you need, so I found it pretty handy.

Now because I love you guys SO much here are some outtakes….. Are you ready to see what REAL actual derp looks like Natalie Jane?

 OUTTAKE TIME!

mmmayouttakes

So anybody interested in using me as a fashion model feel free to contact me on model@hotasderp.com. hahahah ahahahah ha ha

WOA. I may have to take those down. Yikes! *whispering*  ‘it’s on the internet’.

 

13 comments
  1. Alice said:

    Wonderful outfits! You are one stylish lady 🙂

    • Aw thank you Alice 🙂 that’s exactly how I feel about you too!

  2. Laura said:

    Great outfits! I really like the deep pics – it’s nice to see that I’m not the only one 🙂

    • Thanks! So much of the Internet is about people presenting the fanciest version/representation of who they are. Theres nothing wrong with that, but its fun to cut loose sometimes!

  3. Kelly said:

    Hahaha, I love the outtakes, so funny. I get a lot of similar ones when taking blog photos. I was happy to find you during MMM, I love your style!

    • Glad you got a kick out of them! 😉 I especially like the one where I’m mid sneeze! Me too!! Right back at ya! Love the things you make! 😊

  4. Etemi said:

    Ohmygod! The exact same thing went through my mind yesterday after taking the last batch of photos, that I should make a compilation of the most hilarious ones that were deemed unsafe for the internet! 🙂 I think you did a great job with posting daily on Instagram and I agree that the best part is having an opportunity to connect with people! Do you not feel like reaching for a Me-Made automatically in the morning, even now that it’s over?

    • Thanks Girl! Its funny you should ask me that! Yes I really do now! During some of MMM I though argh ‘I don’t feel like wearing my hand made stuff today’ and after MMMay my first thoughts about something to wear include something I’ve made hehe. How about you? The pieces you make mix brilliantly! Perhaps it’s because you have such a clear personal style, which I totally love!

      • Etemi said:

        The same here, although the feeling is definitely fading, as I haven’t worn any me mades for 2 days now. I guess I’m recovering. 😉 That’s the weird thing, I really don’t think my personal style is clear, but I would say the same thing about yours. Maybe it is clearer for others than for us. 🙂

  5. Ahahahahaha! Love these pics! I seem to have my eyes closed in about 3 out of 4 photos… don’t know what that’s about! I’m so glad to hear you’ve made some IRL sewing buddies! It’s just so fun to talk to people who just “get it”. 🙂

    • Thought you might enjoy them hehe. Yes!! People who are just as excited about making clothes! I worked in a fabric shop for sometime, but the customers were mainly quilters.

  6. Anne W said:

    hah, daughter no2 & I ended up deleting loads of silly shots (and ugly ones). MMMay worked out really well, Daughter No 2 has asked for more 60s shifts – just like yours… 🙂

    • She is just so beautiful, I can’t imagine a single bad picture of her! That’s so cool! Can’t wait to see the shifts you make! 🙂

Leave a Reply

