Simple Tokyo Jacket (Tessuti patterns)

tokyo02
tokyo05

tokyo04

tokyo06

tokyo08

Hey friends! I have been away too long and boy do I have a lot of blogs to catch up on. Thanks to all the lovely people who left nice comments about my crazy loud marimekko unikko dress :).

I’m always delighted by how supportive the sewing community is! Thanks ladies xo

So the Tessuti Tokyo jacket pattern…How could I resist this pattern when it’s named after a city I desperately want to visit?! Plus I love the idea of a relaxed spring cover up.

This was my first time using a Tessuti pattern and it will NOT be my last! Those of you who have followed me for some time know that I am NOT an instructions gal! I like to wing it and experiment when it comes to sewing, but for the first time I found myself following the pattern instructions and actually enjoying it! The instruction booklet is gold! Real life photographs and clear instructions (rather than the confusing diagrams and vague explanations that often feature in the big 4). The only time I was slightly unsure was when I did the cuffs. Not certain I did as instructed, but I’m happy enough.

The fabric I used has been in my stash for so long that I only have a faint memory of buying it. I’m pretty sure it came from a spotlight sale table. It drapes well and feels lovely to wear and I’d hazard a guess that it’s rayon and/or cotton.

tokyo01  tokyo03

I don’t think I did this pattern justice due to my boring fabric choice, but I wanted to test out the pattern and  I didn’t feel like going with chiffon or satin, though I should try working with them more often cause I need to practice working with trickier fabrics!

I omitted the pockets and shortened the hem of the jacket. I’m fairly certain it was by about 8 cms, but I’m not in the mood to dig out my pattern and find my notes.There is some faint puckering near the front and I’m not sure why (thought my machine tension seemed fine).

I promise you if I make this again I’ll do it in fabric that is much more exciting.

I have already cut out my next Tessuti pattern and I also vow my fabric choice is much more inspired! I often post images on my instagram related to my latest sewing projects.
The next one should be super fun!

20 comments
  1. Natalie said:

    I love the colour of this! I think the simple fabric choice is what makes the garment. It lets the garment’s shape be the star. One might be fooled into believing you’re an adult in this number 😉
    As I said earlier on ig, I think you’ll get a lot of wear out it for years to come. You look very elegant and put together x
    Excited to see your next Tessuti make! xx

    • Thanks Natalie 😀
      Haha I guess I could give off a grown up vibe in this (for once) 😉
      So kind of you to say!
      Yay! Xx

  2. How simple and lovely! No need to make excuses for your choices. It turned out wonderfully!

    • Hooray! Glad you think the shape works 🙂 x

  3. I love this. The fabric’s not boring, although I agree this pattern would be a good canvas for a spectacular print. Simple and classic, and therefore endlessly versatile.

    • Gosh thanks so much :-)! I guess it’s also good to have simple garments in the wardrobe that play nice with other pieces

  4. Super cool! I’ve been looking for fresh jacket inspiration and here it is! Catherine x

  5. This looks great! It may not be “exciting” but it looks like a useful jacket, and I think the colour is pretty.

    • Thanks Helen. That’s true. Good for mixing and matching 🙂 I guess hehe

  6. Catherine said:

    Awesome job! I agree it would look really lovely in silk or chiffon, but even a cotton voile or a light rayon would look good too for that flows look. xo

    • Yay! ….that’s true, I have a voile that would have worked well 🙂

  7. Mony said:

    It looks so good on you! I love the lenght and the fit and the fabric and everything about it 🙂

  8. Laura said:

    This is a really great spring cover up (I say this through gritted teeth – my winter coat is getting some heavy use already). I think that the “boring” fabric actually makes this more versatile; you should be able to wear it with loads of stuff!

    • Haha you sound just like me! I could not wait for the cold weather to be over! nah thanks 🙂

  9. Ines said:

    Love it! Love me a kimono jacket I want one!

Leave a comment