Magnified Dot Shift Dress

Burda7056-01 Burda7056-02

In the spirit of my obsession with 60s shift dresses I finished another one during the weekend.

Would you believe that it’s so hot where I live that this 60s mini dress is too hot to wear today?

I’ll have to wait till it cools down. Sydney weather in a small apartment means I can only wear singlets and shorts.

Fabric and pattern: I was doing some sewing with my niece some weeks ago and we were using Burda 7056 to make a shift dress, it was turning out so cute, I had to make one for myself. I cut a size 8.

This pattern has much looser relaxed fit than the previous shift I made.

The fabric used is one I was not too precious about because when I’m sewing a pattern I haven’t tried before I tend use the fabric that I’m not madly in love with.

I must have bought this fabric a couple of years ago from the clearance table when I worked at a fabric shop. I think its a stretch sateen, it has a nice weight to it. Looks like it could have been used for cushions or home decor, but I think its dress/fashion fabric because it has a light sheen too it and a little bit of stretch.

When I worked at the fabric shop I just bought meters and meters of a fabric if it was cute and very cheap ($5 or under). I am so glad I did because don’t think you can get much at that price anymore.

I get all my zippers from the remnant warehouse because you pay $1 per zip, rather than the $4-5 they usually cost. Isant that mad? longer zips (over 45cms) ย in Australia are usually $5 each or more!

Changes made:ย Initially I changed the armholes (on the pattern and fabric, extending them) in order to make the dress bra-friendly, but it ruined the whole look, so I ended up cutting out the armholes the way they were intended to be.

I ended up shortening the hem considerably. With such a loose fit, I feel like it works better to make it shorter, but I shortened it so many times that I lost count of home much I shortened it by (I hemmed it twice which was rather annoying).

I also changed the neckline, I lowered it considerably because It was one of those necklines that was so high that the original cut was quite uncomfortable (which meant I also had to redraft the front facing BORING but essential).

While we are on the subject of facings: These facings are tedious! I almost think that its probably quicker to sew an entire lining than getting these facings to behave, but I guess I am getting better at them, good practice I suppose!

Thoughts on the project good/bad:

When I tried the completed project on for the first time I felt like it needed something, but now I think the opposite, best to keep everything (except makeup) minimal when wearing this dress. I like how streamlined it is!

My one issue is that the darts are a touch high on me, also whilst the back does not pucker at all, I wish I took some time to select how the print/dots would fall on the back

I was worried that the massive dots would look too clown-like, and perhaps they do look a bit clown-like, but I think its kind of cool. I do really love the mod look so I guess this fits the bill.

My hair is pinned back and I think that it suits the dress more. I have had a fringe/bangs for over 7 years but I am growing my fringe out, because I want to get a twiggy-esque haircut where the hair is longer at the front a super short at the back.

A hairdresser once told be that I would not be able to pull off very short hair, but I feel as if I should forget what he said and give it a try.ย What do you think?

I have been on such a sewing kick lately. Much more to come!

Burda7056-03

Burda7056-04

Burda7056-06

29 comments
  1. Trine said:

    This dress is perfect! You look so beautiful in this. Might have to give that pattern a try ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Wow thanks Trine! I was just admiring your fabulous shift too! Great minds think alike ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Jane Cox said:

    I thought you had a new pixie cut in the first photos and thought it looked great! Goes well with the cute dress too ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Awesome! Thanks for the lovely comment Jane ๐Ÿ™‚ !

  3. Anne W said:

    It looks great! And as for the hair, I recon you would totally suit a short “do”.

    • Thanks Anne. glad you think I would. I will give it a try ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Novita said:

    The dress is fabulous and very much mod looking. The simple lines is perfect for such bold pattern. I also thought you just had a pixie cut and it really suits you. You look like a sixties supermodel!

    • Wow I am overwhelmed by your sweet comment! Thank you Novita.

      Simple lines is just what I was going for ๐Ÿ™‚

      Your hair is gorgeous and it’s just the sort of cut I want to get too!

  5. I think you’d look cute in short hair. That was actually the first thing I noticed when I looked at your post. I seriously thought, you looked like Twiggy. Then I read on to find out you want to cut your hair like her. I say go for it. The dress is darling on you!

    • Thanks Beth what a lovely compliment and thanks for the encouragement, I think I am ready for a super short do! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank ya. I wasn’t sure about the dots meeting at the back but I don’t mind it so much anymore. Luckily this version I avoided the puckering and showed the fabric who was boss!

  6. Laurel said:

    This dress is awesome and not at all clownish. Plus forget that hairstylist you could totally rock short hair!

    • Thanks Laurel! So happy to have discovered your blog. You make gorgeous things ๐Ÿ™‚
      So glad you think so, and what made me think hairstylists were always right?!

  7. I love dots. And your shift dress is great!

  8. You look so cute!!! I love this on you! You could totally rock the Twiggy cut!

    • You are always so sweet and supportive! Thanks a lot :)!

    • Merci! ๐Ÿ˜€ When is Mad Men coming back? I am really in need of some good TV!

  9. Angie said:

    Go for the short hair! Lovely lovely dress!

    • Thanks Angie! I trust your advice because you are such an insanely cute and stylish lady! Going to cut it when my bangs have grown out more ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Yumi said:

    I love this dress! Such a perfect blend of the pattern and the polka dot print! I recently found your blog and love everything you’ve made. I made this dress a few weeks ago but it looks way better on you.

    Btw, I just saw a l.k. Bennett ad and the girl looks just like you! I had to do a double take. You are definitely model material so I wouldn’t be shocked if it really was you!

    • Wow, thank you so much Yumi! What a lovely comment!

      You have lifted my spirits on this gloomy say!

      That is so sweet of you to say, I am not a model but when I sew, I sort of get to be a fashion designer (to myself) and thats pretty cool haha!

  11. Grace said:

    I love this dress, it looks really good on you.

  12. Candace said:

    Adorable dress, how much did you take off the high neckline? I’m making this dress right now.

Leave a comment