Crazy black and white chevron dress (Simplicity 1803)

Yes! It’s time for more chevron action!  Before I post the images let me say that I am painfully aware of the fact that the only place the stripes match up is at the center front seam….I am pretty much OK with that. I am doing away with the sewing perfectionist inside and I am OK with all the miss-matched stripes!

Sorry in advance if this post hurts your eyeballs. I am a lover of Bridget Riley and Opp-Art stuff so crazy dresses are fine by me! Click images to enlarge them

Now lets get on with it 🙂

Simplicity-1803-01 Simplicity-1803-02 Simplicity-1803-03 Simplicity-1803-04

I am not really loving the fit…

Gone are the days when I want my dresses to fit like a second skin but I have taken it a step further and decided to stop bothering with muslins, because, you know…I have HUNDREDS of patterns and lots fabric I want to use!

I used to feel fabulous in fit-and-flare dresses, but recently my figure (and hair) has changed. I find myself gravitating more towards skirts, jeans with tees and simple shift dresses.

I don’t know if I want to fuss with as many fitted dresses anymore, so perhaps some skirts and looser styles are on the sewing horizon!

Material notes:

I choose simplicity 1803 because I have a good history with project runway patterns fitting well. I loved the neckline and the cap sleeves. The style of dress struck me as something my mum would have worn in her early 20s (with short beehive hair). My mum is my hero and style icon 😉

I got the fabric at lincraft when they had 40% off everything, so it worked out to be around $5 a meter. I have to confess my love for this kind of poly/cotton blend… It washes so well and it SO easy to work with!

I am digging stripes right now. Let it be known that black and white is my favorite combination!

$1 invisible zip from my favorite place: The Remnant Warehouse!

Construction notes:

I left out the weird front-of-the-crotch pockets that the skirt had! I also stuck the front and side front pattern pieces together before cutting and treated them as one piece.

I forgot how annoying it is to ease in sleeves! I could have done a better job, but I am already thinking of the next thing I am going to make, and it will most likely have raglan sleeves 😉

I made a size 8 but sewed the side seams an extra 5mm in (2cm seam allowance) but I think it should have been taken in at the center back and panel lines too. I have no patience for multiple fittings anymore…

Note to self: over-lock EVERYTHING before sewing together with the exception of neckline, inner facings and princess seams.

22 comments
  1. mette said:

    Love that dress, black and white is amazing and the fit , so flattering.

    • Thanks :)! Is that Anne Mette by any chance?

      • Mette said:

        Yes have can you guess that tinne

      • Mum you are the absolute sweetest!

        I should set you up with a blog of your own, the world needs to see your baking and crafts! xox 🙂

  2. Very cute! I think it looks great with the belt and would also work with a wider black belt.

    • Thanks Catherine! I have a woven obi I made some time ago I’ll try with it 🙂

  3. I’m loving all these chevron and strip creations… very inspiring.

  4. Novita said:

    Love it! It is such a statement item. And I love your hair!

    • Wow thanks Novita :). I feel like I can wear bolder things (with short hair) have you experienced the same?

  5. This is really, really cute! I love the fit on you, and the stripes are so bold and sassy! LOVE the new haircut, too!

    • If YOU think it’s bold and sassy, then my work is done 🙂 ! Thanks Ginger!

  6. Laurel said:

    It’s interesting reading about you letting go of being a sewing perfectionist because that’s something i struggle with as well. With this dress your more laid back approach worked out well! Love this dress 🙂

    • Thank you Laurel 😀
      It’s nice you hear you can relate (not nice to have the same problem, but nice to know you understand)!
      Why are so many of us our own worst critics? It can take the fun out of sewing.
      I remember when I was a girl and I used to over-lock tubes of knit and lycra fabric together to make barbie dresses, silly thing to do but happiness just came from making something/anything!

  7. You are the queen of chevrons!! I love this dress. I’ll take it off your hands 🙂

    • Thank you Neeno! I feel the same about your creations. I am madly in love with your cherry dress!

  8. Amy said:

    Ooooh that’s super cute! I don’t think the stripes are noticeably not aligned, at least not wear I’m sitting. I totally agree that radical hair changes really affect wardrobe choices!

    • Lovely of you to say Amy:).
      They really do…and not in ways you always expect!

  9. Erika said:

    Love it! The pattern of the material and the dress are perfect. I recently got this pattern and cannot wait to make it. Now, after seeing your dress, I wanna start it right away!

    • Awesome! I’m so flattered that I’ve inspired you Erika! 🙂

Leave a comment